But wait… Who are you?

My name is Melissa, but you can call me Mel. I’m an overly excited individual who enjoys the painful pressure of a fast paced environment. I sometimes try to do too many things at once, but can you blame me? There’s a dream I’m chasing and I’m giving it my all till I reach my “happy place”.  What is my “happy place” you might ask? Well, that’s something I’m still trying to figure out; however, I know what I don’t want and have an idea of what I’m looking for. I DON’T want to get stuck in any regular 9 – 5 job where my creative juices are being constrained from flowing. I DON’T want to have free time and get bored. I DON’T want to be told I can’t take a vacation or attend to family needs because I “just don’t have the time”. These three things will have me contemplating life and I’m ready to make a change, mentally and physically. My goals are fairly simple and achievable. I want to be happy and healthy, I want to be able to spend more time with my loved ones, and I want to create content for everyone to enjoy including myself. I’ve been working for a company for 6 years, a company that has taught me much of what I know today while helping me realize what I really want to achieve in life. With this company, I’ve learned the good and the bad of working for a corporate business. The amount of time and effort you have to constantly put forth, the harsh loads of work and deadlines that sometimes feel impossible to complete, and the rough reality of not being able to simply, do you! It’s not easy working for someone else, I think we all know that. Still, I have to take into consideration all that I have learned; communication, budgeting, public relations, tracking and expenses, design and much more. Those are all lessons and experiences that I might not have been able to gain elsewhere, and for that I am grateful. Now you might think this is my resignation letter… but it’s not. I’ve got much more to learn! I was always drawn towards art and creativity while remaining intrigued by business, marketing, and all that other fun stuff. I’d like to think I use both sides of my brain, equally. I danced for years and had a deep admiration for music. It enabled me to choreograph, which led me to productions and shows. I also always loved photography but used to be in the frame rather than taking the photo. As a kid I remember playing with my mom’s camcorder, taking videos and pictures of my dad as he played football. I was always trying to tell a story. I finally picked up a Sony Cybershot, mainly because it was one of the first cameras to allow for panoramic photos. My dad and I split it, but he knew he had no chance after the first 3 days. Soon it became mine, all mine. I used it everywhere, I still have it. Terabytes of photos and videos that would soon take up the memory of my computer and all of my external hard drives. Obviously, I was hooked on capturing THE moment(s). I figured out that I loved videography, photography, and productions of all sorts. I just wanted to create something new EVERY. SINGLE. TIME. I just enjoy the way music, people and places make me feel and I want to portray just that. Going back to my dance days when I used to dance out of happiness, sadness or anger to the beat and lyrics of a song – or putting together a video that would bring some kind of sentimental value to my viewers – or maybe, a photo of a special place that made a mark on my heart. A connection, that’s what I am trying to make. Art is what I’m chasing and this is just the start.

Xoxo,

Leave a Reply

